A Hearty Hello.

Hi guys,

Ralph here, things are a little quiet here at Small Mans HQ so I thought I’d take a little time to say Hi and to upload some photos of the armies/ teams I play in various games.  I warn you all in advance I’m no Golden Demon winner, nor do I try to be.  I paint to the best of my abilities and pretty much for the pleasure of it.  I’m a pretty crappy photographer too, and I took all of these photos using the camera on my phone (HTC One) it’s not a great camera.

My first taste of Wargaming was playing Warhammer 40k and the first army I played way back when I was a young(ish) lad was the Space Wolves.  I still love the Space Wolves and Space Marines of any chapter aren’t a bad starting point in the hobby, they’re easier to play tactically than some other armies, due to their high points cost in game the player needs less models on the table thus a cheaper army to assemble, and they’re relatively easy to paint due to plenty of wide flat surfaces on their power-armour.

After playing plenty of GW’s finest hour Gorkamorka toward the end of Second edition I became thoroughly enamored of the Orks and their ways, also while their ideology was still very much the comic relief of the 40k universe with the introduction of third edition Orks received a make-over which still pretty much defines their look today.

IMAG0736

This is pretty much when I stopped playing with named characters and started naming my own force-commanders, In the photo above we have the first iteration of The Mighty, Mighty Nodrog Eht Rehpog Blackjaw (named after a Ska band, A hand-puppet and generic Ork name X).  Also in the photo you can see Nodrog’s personal banna wavva Slygit the Sneaky my tribute to Makari who was sadly taken from us when Ghazghkull Thraka recieved his EXTREME(!!!) make-over in third edition.

And so time moved on and I drifted out of the hobby for some time dipping in again at various intervals when new Chaos and new Space Wolf miniatures were released, but most of these kits remained unassembled under my bed at my parents.

A couple of years ago while moving things from my parents to my marital home I found a wealth, a plethora of unconstructed Space Wolves and Chaos Space Marine under the bed and they gave me ideas, dark ideas involving once loyal Wolf-brothers fallen to the dark, ruinous forces of Chaos. THUS… The Dire Wolves were born, using his ultra-evil powers, Lord Stark has dedicated his un-life to fighting Eldar and the forces of the Imperium!

2014-10-01 17.33.232014-10-01 17.36.42-1IMAG0732

I don’t always (read: hardly ever) win games, but to be honest I don’t really play 40k to win, I play the game because I love the world and I’m completely invested in that world.

More recently along with Neil we’ve been using our games nights to play some other games, and it’s been fun to dedicate some of my painting time to painting something other than grey space Marines (Though I still have plenty of grey Space Marines to finish painting).

Among these other games I’ve really enjoyed painting and playing with my Marauders Dreadball team, it was fun to paint green-skins again for a while.

IMAG0746IMAG0750

Finally, more recently we’ve been playing Privateer Press’s Warmachine.  Again a fun new painting challenge and I think I’ve done some pretty good work on the red Warjacks and Shocktroops of my Khador Army.

IMAG0751IMAG0753IMAG0756

And that about brings me to where we are now, what have I got on the painting table at the moment?  I’ve got pretty good momentum going on my Khador minis finishing everything that’s red, so I’ve got my Widowmaker squad, a whole Winterguard attachment plus UA, Rocket-launchers and Kovnik Joe begging for my attention, a Kodiak Warjack plus a handful or so of solos, I’ve got a couple of handfuls of Chaos Cultists which need painting for my 40k army and I’ve got a big heap of High Elves which I’m probably going to go back to soon as the Warhammer universe looks likely to be a big deal in the near future.

Anyway, thanks for indulging my waffley stroll down my wargaming memory lane.  No doubt I’ll catch you all next time space-cowboys.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Hearty Hello.

  1. Wendi says:

    Today i spent 300 $ for platinium roulette system , i hope that i will make my first money online

    Like

  2. Valentin says:

    Hello webmaster do you need unlimited content for your website ?
    What if you could copy content from other blogs, make it pass copyscape test and publish on your
    page – i know the right tool for you, just type in google:
    loimqua’s article tool

    Like

  3. video slots says:

    Hi website owner, do you allow guest posting ?? Please let me know, i am interested
    .

    Like

Leave a Reply

